Moonlighting

Image

When I hosted the first “Moonlighting” event at Moon Library, I had very high hopes (www.esf.edu/moonlighting/).  I had invited Professors Cathryn Newton and Samuel Gorovitz from Syracuse University to join ESF Professor William Powell and I for a discussion of issues surrounding the idea of bringing extinct species back to life.  The event met and exceeded every one of my hopes.  For me, this was a demonstration of the best of academia.  A far-ranging discussion of the implications of resurrected species from ethics to ecosystems.  It was intellectually stimulating, surprising at every turn, and a beautiful example of a respectful exchange of ideas among very bright people with wildly different experiences and backgrounds.  With expertise ranging from paleontology and mass extinctions to philosophy and biotechnology there were authoritative responses to the many and extraordinarily diverse questions from the audience who were the other stars of the show.  I am looking forward to future Moonlighting events and the challenging of living up to the high bar set by this first one.

About qdwheeler

Quentin Wheeler is the 4th president of the State University of New York College of Environmental Science and Forestry
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Moonlighting

  1. nygreenguy says:

    Such a great topic. I am sad I missed the discussion!

Comments are closed.